The ees AWARD – Innovating Energy Storage

Energy storage systems are one of the essential pillars of the renewable energy mix of the future, safeguarding supplies to drive the energy transition. As international exhibition series for batteries and energy storage systems, ees (electrical energy storage) is the industry hotspot for suppliers, manufacturers, distributors, and users of electrical energy storage solutions as well as battery systems.

Introduced in 2014, the ees AWARD is devoted to the electrical energy storage solutions behind the clean energy of tomorrow. The energy award pays tribute to pioneering products and solutions for stationary and mobile electrical energy storage systems. The range of innovations encompasses the entire value-added chain of innovative battery and energy storage technologies – from components to concrete applications and business models.

Technologies for the ees AWARD

Innovations in the energy storage industry are driving the modernization of the energy infrastructure and play an important role in creating a flexible and reliable grid system. The ees AWARD has set itself the goal of honoring these powerful innovations in the category Electrical Energy Storage, in which technologies can be submitted such as:

  • Lithium-based batteries
  • Lead-based batteries
  • Redox flow batteries
  • Recycling/second use
  • (Ultra) capacitors
  • Battery management systems
  • Power electronics for storage systems
  • Battery chargers
  • etc.

ees AWARD Winners 2022

This year, the covected ees AWARD in the category "Electrical Energy Storage" was presented to:


All about the AWARD Winners 2022

ees AWARD Finalists 2022

The finalists of the ees AWARD 2022 in the Electrical Energy Storage category have been selected:

  • Contemporary Amperex Technology Co., Limited
  • Contemporary Amperex Technology Co., Limited
  • E-Stream GmbH & Co KGaA
  • Honeywell Xtralis
  • Inaccess Ltd
  • Shenzhen Cubenergy Co., Ltd.
  • STABL Energy GmbH
  • Voltfang GmbH

All about the AWARD Finalists

AWARD Ceremony

Every year, the official AWARD Ceremony reveals the AWARD winners on a grand stage. The ceremony is attended by high-caliber dignitaries and brings together visitors, exhibitors, representatives and decision-makers from the international renewable energy industry, as well as national and international press representatives. 

The presentation of the 2022 award winners took place as part of The smarter E Europe in Munich on May 10, 2022. 

Testimonials ees AWARD

Jarno Wagner
General Manager Germany, Austria & Switzerland
Enphase Encharge, ees AWARD Winner 2021

“We are honoured to have received the ees AWARD 2021 for our Enphase Encharge solar battery storage, as it proudly reflect our ambitions. Therewith Enphase is able to offer a complete solution with solar storage tying into our innovative, simple, highly serviceable and performant PV system of micro inverters, apps and services.”

Franz-Josef Feilmeier
ees AWARD Winner 2020

"The FENECON Energy Engineering team is very proud to be honoured with the ees AWARD 2020. It was the storage industry’s spotlight on our innovations in modular and flexible systems as well as the advantages of the EMS-platform OpenEMS. We were overwhelmed with the great international interest in our residential to industrial storage systems and are happy to have established great new partnerships."

Xavier Romon
Marketing and Sales Development, ZnR Batteries SAS (France), ees AWARD Winner 2020

"Zinium is very proud to have been named winner of the 2020 ees AWARD and we thank the jury for having distinguished our zinc-air long-life battery technology.

The Award trophy is well placed in our showroom and we have communicated widely about being winner of the ees AWARD 2020. This has led to a large influx of interest from companies around the world, and has allowed us to develop new commercial successes. The AWARD has helped to make us known and motivates us to always go forward!"


ees AWARD 2018 Testimonial Mohamed Mostafa and Johannes Ott from SMA

Mohamed Mostafa & Johannes Otto
Head of PG Industrial Storage Solution & Product Manager of SCS, SMA Solar Technology AG
ees AWARD Winner 2018

"SMA is well known as award winner at the Intersolar which is the best statement for giving all our dedication into developing great products. We are honored to be chosen as a winner in the ees AWARD 2018 with the Sunny Central Storage, the core element in our Large Scale Storage Solution. We get a lot of positive feedback from our customers for the quality and capability of SMA storage systems. This is a big motivation to keep up pace and push our solutions to the edge of the limits."

Evaluation Criteria ees AWARD

A. Degree of Technological Innovation (30%)

  • Technological advancement
  • Extraordinary characteristics
  • Technological creativity and quality

B. Technical and Environmental Benefits (15%)

  • Technological benefits
  • Environmental benefits and socially relevant features

C. System Integration (10%)

  • System interfaces
  • Installation
  • Compliance with international technology standards

D. Safety (15%)

  • Compliance with international safety standards

E. Economic Benefits (15%)

  • Economic benefits for the user
  • Demand, markets and marketing strategy

F. Proof of Innovation (10%)

  • Proof of functionality and ingenuity, test results, certifications, patents, references

G. Presentation (5%)

  • Format and quality of description and presentation
  • Extent of application documentation

ees AWARD Jury

Member of the ees AWARD Jury: Dr.-Ing. Matthias Vetter

Dr.-Ing. Matthias Vetter
Head of Department Electrical Energy Storage
Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE

Member of the ees AWARD Jury: Dr. Falko Schappacher

Dr. Falko Schappacher
Managing Director MEET Battery Research Center
University of Muenster

Member of the ees AWARD Jury: Nina Munzke

Nina Munzke
Team Leader Stationary Storage Systems
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)

Member of the ees AWARD Jury: Dipl.-Ing. Heiko Schwarzburger MA

Dipl.-Ing. Heiko Schwarzburger MA
Editor-in-chief „photovoltaik - Solartechnik für Installateure, Planer und Architekten“
Alfons W. Gentner Verlag GmbH & Co. KG

Dr. George Hilton
Senior Analyst - Batteries and Energy Storage
S&P Global